Netherlands Embassy in Warsaw, Poland

Open letter Equality Parade 2013

On the occasion of the Equality Parade 2013 in Warsaw, the Netherlands Embassy took the initiative to publish a joint statement. The statement was signed by twenty-two Embassies.

The text of the statement is the following:

Open letter of the Ambassadors of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom and the United States of America and the Representative of the Flemish Government on the occasion of the Equality Parade in Warsaw on June 15th, 2013. The initiative of this letter came from the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

On the occasion of this year’s Warsaw Equality Parade, we express our support for efforts to raise public awareness of the issues affecting the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community in Poland. In this regard, we affirm the inherent dignity of each individual as expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Respect for these fundamental values, which are also enshrined in the framework of the Council of Europe and the European Union as a community of values, obliges governments to protect all citizens from violence and discrimination and to ensure they enjoy equal opportunities. For this, we need to jointly work on an environment of tolerance and acceptance. We applaud the hard work of LGBT communities in Poland and around the world, as well as the work of all those in government and outside who seek to ensure fundamental rights for LGBT persons and end discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity. LGBT rights are human rights, for which each individual should stand.

Jean Dunn, Ambassador of Australia

Herbert Krauss, Ambassador of Austria

Raoul Delcorde, Ambassador of Belgium

Alexandra Bugailiskis, Ambassador of Canada

Ivan Del Vechio, Ambassador of Croatia

Steen Hommel, Ambassador of Denmark

Jari Pekka Olavi Vilen, Ambassador of Finland

Pierre Buhler, Ambassador of France

Rüdiger Freiherr von Fritsch, Ambassador of Germany

Eugene Hutchinson, Ambassador of Ireland

Riccardo Guariglia, Ambassador of Italy

Loreta Zakarevičiene, Ambassador of Lithuania

Conrad Bruch, Ambassador of Luxemburg

Christianne Caruana, Charge d’Affaires of the Embassy of Malta

Marcel Kurpershoek, Ambassador of the Netherlands

Wendy Hinton, Ambassador of New Zealand

Karsten Klepsvik, Ambassador of Norway

Agustin Nunez Martinez, Ambassador of Spain

Staffan Herrstrom, Ambassador of Sweden

Robin Barnett, Ambassador of the United Kingdom

Stephen Mull, Ambassador of the United States of America

Koen Haverbeke, Representative of the Flemish Government


For more information:

Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Katarzyna Kolman, tel. 022 559 12 51,
Adriaan Palm, tel. 0603 961 820,